X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • biglouie
    • Jul 2015

Yet another Atlas lathe question

I am just getting started with machine tools. I have lots of experience welding but not much work on anything other than a drill press. But at 62, there is no time like now. I found this 1975 Atlas 12 x 36 lathe on Craigslist. It comes with a three and four jaw chuck and some tooling. Very clean and one owner. I am primarily going to be making parts for an old Corvette that I am customizing. Currently asking $2750 but I am unsure of a reasonable price. I would rather pay more and get the right lathe if this Atlas is not appropriate. I do have a local retired machinist that is going to teach me the basics, but he didn't have an opinion as to what it is worth. Any feedback about the suitability of this lathe or price is appreciated! Thanks for your time and consideration.

Last edited by biglouie; 07-13-2015, 12:20 PM.
  • Toolguy
    • Jan 2010

My short answer with the information given would be you would probably be ahead of the game to just get a Grizzly, Enco, Precision Matthews or other brand new Chinese import for the same money or a little more. I would do some shopping first on this deal.
    Kansas City area

Comment

• J Tiers
      • Jan 2004

Much as I dislike giving money to the chinese, you can get, for that $$, a LOT heavier machine from them.

The atlas is usable, but is a very lightweight, flexible, bouncy machine. A hobby machine, and not suited to heavier work. Just look at the slim and slender bed of that Atlas, and then look at some of the chinese units. A thick heavy bed is good.
      CNC machines only go through the motions.

Ideas expressed may be mine, or from anyone else in the universe.
      Not responsible for clerical errors. Or those made by lay people either.
      Number formats and units may be chosen at random depending on what day it is.
      I reserve the right to use a number system with any integer base without prior notice.