PDA

View Full Version : Planetary ball bearing drive

Frank Ford
06-21-2004, 05:27 PM
Anybody out there have a source for information about designing planetary reduction drives using preloaded ball bearings instead of gears? I'd like to come up with 10:1 or better reduction in a housing that measures no more than .750 O.D. by .450 high.

30 years ago a machinist friend made a 9:1 drive that fit within a 1/2 x 3/8 can, but I lost contact LONG ago. I'm just getting started on this, and my first seat-of-the pants attempt yielded a working prototype that's about 6.5:1.

------------------
Frank Ford
www.frets.com

BillH
06-21-2004, 05:47 PM
Hmm, Well, not a reduction drive, but Tamiya sells a Ball differential for their r/c cars that work in a similiar fashion. They act like a bearing between plates, but also drives the plates.

gunsmith
06-21-2004, 07:00 PM
A system used by Paxton as a blower for cars and has been used since the first world war in planes. It was originaly built by McCullach (I'm not sure if I spelled it right but they are the chain saw people). It has since been bought out by Paxton. This same blower is still being used today by hot rodders. Just about bullet proof and bare bones basic ball drive. For your purpose you would use the system as a reduction instead of to increase speed. Since it has been around so long there is for sure complete drawings out there in automotive parts books. It was used by Packard, Hudson, Studabaker and more recently Ford. Hope that helps.

Rich Carlstedt
06-21-2004, 07:10 PM
There is a Japanese maker of such varispeed boxes used in many industrial applications.
Their name slips my mind, but it is a good unit. the balls move inside two nested cones as I recall. Only crital thing is the "OIL" !
Special in that it must lubricate , but no slip...sort of like Fords old auto transmission fluid requirements.
I worked with these about 20 years ago, but saw one recently in a shop.

darryl
06-21-2004, 08:21 PM