PDA

View Full Version : O.T. polishing old claw foot tub

RichardG
10-12-2015, 04:17 PM
Has anyone had any luck polishing an old claw foot tub? I can have it refinished but the finish does not hold up very well. Is it possible to polish one if it does not have any chips? Though I would ask here lots of people with much brain power/smarts. Also has anyone rebuilt/remachined old faucets?
Richard

ironmonger
10-12-2015, 05:03 PM
I have no personal experience with refinishing old tubs, but I can tell you that the enamel is not that thick, and it is tough as all get out. Might be possible to polish it, but I would lean toward professionally applied epoxy or urethane finish. I would be interested as well in other folks experience with this. I would certainly ask for references...

The subject of the faucet is a little different (42 years as a commercial/industrial plumber) has led me to believe that the first problem is identifying the actual manufacturer, and then finding spares to rebuild it. If you are lucky enough to have a Chicago Faucet, no problem. I have fixed 100 year Chicago Faucet's and parts are no problem.

We used to use these guys as a source for hard to find parts:

http://www.hodesco.com/default.aspx?Page=New%20Customer nationally, and have used these folks locally:

http://pppmilwaukee.com/

I havenít spoken to the folks at Hodes for years, but they used to be helpful on the phone. The folks at Plumbing Parts Plus give good phone... and it appears that they might be a small national chain.

Good luck

alanganes
10-12-2015, 05:07 PM
Can't say I've ever tried that, but my understanding is that the shiny polished look is from the glazed enamel outer layer of the porcelain finish. Once that wears through, I don't think it is recoverable. But I suppose if it's already not looking so good you could try some small spot.

I'll be curious to hear what other input you get.