PDA

View Full Version : Centering on existing holes in "adverse" conditions?

jmarkwolf
11-18-2015, 10:56 AM
I'm frequently asked to "stand-in" as a machinist here at work. We don't have any machinists, but we do have a small shop with band saws, a disc sander and a big mill/drill, with which we do drilling and light machining of mostly aluminum and plastic assemblies for prototypes. Anybody in the office that knows how to pull a quill handle is allowed to use the equipment (but that's another story).

I have a small shop with a Bridgeport at home and, as an electrical engineer, I can pull a quill handle better than some. :)

A 700mm wide x 900mm long x 75mm deep assembly (open top box) CNC milled from billet, we commissioned from our satellite office in Germany, failed some 6mm dia x 12mm deep threaded blind holes at the bottom surface of the box, at the customer in-coming quality. Don't ask me how.

I was asked to fix the problem with Helicoil inserts.

This, of course, entailed centering on the existing hole, drilling, tapping and inserting the Helicoil inserts.

The existing holes were approx 15mm from the interior walls of the "box", too close to the wall to swing a dial indicator, or a T-handled tap wrench for that matter (needed a tap extension for clearance).

I ended up clamping the work to the table, chucking up a drill bit sized to drop in the original threaded hole, and CAREFULLY moving the table so the drill bit would drop through the existing hole without "much" drag as I pulled the quill handle. I regarded this my 0,0 for each of the half dozen holes needing repair.

It appears that I got away with it as all the holes passed a go/no go gauge test and had the required thread engagement measurement.

I'm wondering, however, what the preferred approach might've been to center on the original holes, given the tight constraints.

RichR
11-18-2015, 11:12 AM