PDA

View Full Version : Mini Lathe Tailstock Alignment

rabbit_nick
01-01-2016, 07:11 PM
Hello,

I recently bought a mini lathe 7x14" (180x350mm) for my workshop and I have to say that I should have bought a lathe it much earlier.
The machine is a small China import lathe (nothing special) with 550 Watts motor and metal gears and as you can tell I am really excited about it.

The only problem I found so far is that the tailstock is not very accurately aligned with the headstock center.
As I am new to lathes I searched on YouTube and I found 2 or 3 ways, using a dial indicator, to align it but my lack of experience does not allow me to fix my problem...

After a small online research I found out a tailstock alignment tool called MT2 to MT3 Buddy Bar. This "Buddy Bar" has one end MT2 Morse Tapered and the other end MT3 Morse Tapered.
The MT2 end fits into the tailstock and the MT3 end fits into the headstock and that "fitting" makes the alignment.

Do you think that this tool does cover my need?
Is it as easy as it sounds or I will have issues?

Thank you very much
Nikos

mars-red
01-01-2016, 07:31 PM
Do you have a set-over tailstock? If so, that tool might be useful if you plan on changing the alignment regularly. Otherwise, you can use a piece of card pinched gently between centers to roughly judge alignment, then fine tune it by making test cuts between centers on a piece of thick stock and measuring the amount of taper along the cut.

darryl
01-01-2016, 07:36 PM
I'm assuming that the tailstock will need shimming and re-tightening to get it to hold that position- the challenge will be to make sure it's still aligned once it's tightened down. I like the idea though- and presumably you would carefully check to see that the exposed MT2 part rotates precisely on axis without wobble beforehand. You would also need to know that the head stock is aligned previous to aligning the tail stock.