PDA

View Full Version : OT. DIY telescope question (Evan, Macona ?)

Mr Fixit
01-24-2016, 03:39 PM
Hello Group,
I have been asked by my 9yr old grandson if we could build a telescope. Google search gave lots to filter through. The grandson has spent time in the shop, run the lathe and seen the other equipment used so I'm comfortable having him working with the machine's (supervised) to do a project.

The Dobsonian looks really cool to build (machinist stuff) but I'm clueless about this topic and felt this would be the place for some direction.

So, my background is an electrician, HVAC Tech and home hobbist, machine work knowlege is highschool 35yrs ago1class, self taught since I acquired my equipment 2010. I have a SB9A tool room lathe, Bridgeport clone mill, welding forms, stick, mig,tig, gas, and a few sheet metal tools.

Question is does anyone have a design to recommend, a web site to visit, a forum to join, an opinion about the whole idea of doing this.
I'd like to honor his request but I also know failure or never completed projects are no fun, so I'm looking for your guidance on this one!:confused:

TX
Mr fixit for the family
Chris :)

P.S. Evan, Macona, you came up in searches here for old topic's that's why I called out your name's.
TX Chris

The Artful Bodger
01-24-2016, 04:27 PM
Chris, there is a heap of information at http://www.cloudynights.com/index

I have very little experience and have restricted my amateur telescope making to building mount or two.

This is a great project to have with a young person.

boslab
01-24-2016, 04:34 PM
Actually it's not that difficult, ok if you start making mirrors it gets more involved, I helped make one but never did one for me, it had to be sent for aluminising, unless your macona that would be normal!
Don't build a skeleton telescope if you have any light pollution!, found that out quick
A dobsonian would be a good place to start, sheet ply is adequate, amazingly.
https://stellafane.org/tm/dob/