PDA

View Full Version : Lithium batteries

Seastar
02-02-2016, 04:11 PM
I have a hodge podge of battery operated power tools that I have accumulated over the years.
Drills, sanders, saws, lights and so on.
Most are so old that battery packs are not available for them.
All used NiCad packs that I have rebuilt many times.
My company has in the past purchased millions of various NiCad cells and built packs out of them for our portable radios.
We have stoped using NiCad batteries althogether so I no longer have a cheap source for the cells to rebuild my tool packs.
I am thinking of throwing away all of those old worn out power tools and buying new lithium powered units.
I did buy a small Ryobi drill to carry on my boat and it seems to work well.
Since I have little experience with lithium powered tools I am wondering what brands give the best performance.
By that I mean the longest run time on a charge and most recharge cycles.
I have extensive experience measuring the performance of NiCad cells but have not done that for lithium.
I know in NiCad I found 3 to 1 capacity and charge cycle life differences in various manufacturers cells
What say you experts on this forum about the best brands of lithium powered tools?
Bill

flylo
02-02-2016, 04:18 PM
I've had great luck with Makita.

dp
02-02-2016, 04:20 PM
I used an Ryobi 18V drill and lithium battery to build a very large deck back in 2006. It had thousands of deck screws drilled and screwed into Trex decking. 10 years of regular use later that same drill and battery are alive and well. The non-lithium batteries all died long ago.

flylo
02-02-2016, 04:36 PM