PDA

View Full Version : Three phase convertor question

JPR
07-02-2004, 02:18 PM
I just purchased a Clausing 1500 with a 7.5 three phase motor. I am getting ready to purchase a 3 phase motor to build a single to three phase convertor.

Can I go with a Baldor 7.5 hp with a SF 1.15 or do I need to buy a 10 hp?

The 7.5 is new and cheaper than than the used 10 hp. Plus I am concerned about the amperage draw on the 10 hp.

Second question, has anyone tried a 3600 rpm instead of the standard 1750 rpm? One of the website I was looking at, indicated that the phases would be better matched with a higher rpm motor.

Thanks for the help,
Jon

[This message has been edited by JPR (edited 07-02-2004).]

lynnl
07-02-2004, 02:28 PM
I'm no expert on this, but it's my understanding that the rpm doesn't matter. Either one will generate 60cycles. As for the size, I've often read that actually the better arrangement is to match the 3ph generator motor to the size of the driven load. ...Or at least don't select a grossly larger generator. I think that's for cost efficiency concerns. It's not saying it won't work to have a large mismatch.

Maybe someone else more fluent in such matters will educate us both here.

JCHannum
07-02-2004, 05:46 PM
If you are going to the expense of buying a new motor, you would be far better off to spring for a VFD and get the benefits of speed control, braking, instant reverse and all the other goodies.
A home made rotary convertor is really only a compromise solution to three phase.

Forrest Addy
07-02-2004, 05:52 PM
I endorse JC's suggestion about VFD's (variable frequency drive). I have VFD's on almost all my machine tools.

There's advantages to phase converters and advantages to VFD's but the variable speed, full load motor HP, electronic braking, quiet operation, electrical efficiency, and the other features makes (to my mind at least) selection of the VFD route a no-brainer.

SGW
07-02-2004, 06:05 PM