PDA

View Full Version : Homebrew CNC: What about limit switches?

Doc Nickel
03-17-2016, 04:24 AM
We're working on a homebrew CNC setup, which is very much an educational experience for all parties involved. :) We're getting close to a very early testing stage, and it's time to start thinking about mounting some limit switches.

Can I just use some off-the-shelf leaf-type microswitches? I know at some point I'll need more robust and better protected switches- the plan for this machine does include coolant at some point. But for the time being, can I just use some common micros?

I'm still very new at this, so pardon the ignorance. Doesn't the usual stepper-based homebrew setup use a "home" position, marked by the limit switches, as a base/zero? In which case, the ultimate position is at least somewhat determined by the accuracy/repeatability of the switches themselves?

Or are the switches basically just "don't go past this point" indicators?

Doc.

Magicniner
03-17-2016, 06:13 AM
For limits you can use anything that works, for homing you need something with very repeatable break and make points if you intend to reference your machine position from them and use tool offsets.
Most systems have separate inputs for home & limits, limits will stop your machine if you run a job which would otherwise "hit the buffers"
Regards,
Nick

DR
03-17-2016, 06:28 AM
On servo systems the limit switch acts as a stop point. From there the system backs up the servo motor to the marker on the servo's encoder to accurately establish home or "reference" position with high repeatability.

With a stepper usually there aren't encoders so the system would depend on the accuracy of the limit switch which might not be so accurate.