PDA

View Full Version : ER Collet Advice

tuckoon
08-25-2016, 03:00 PM
Just received a set of ER 32 collets and a MT 4 / ER 32 collet chuck for my lathe. I have never used these before and wanted to know the do's and dont's of using them. any and all advice and suggestions are welcome.
Thanks, steve

10KPete
08-25-2016, 03:08 PM
First thing is to tuck the collet into the nut before putting the collet/nut into the chuck. Never put the collet in the chuck and then try to put the nut on.

Pete

Toolguy
08-25-2016, 03:13 PM
Don't try to force something larger than the size marked on the collet, into the collet. ER collets have a large grip range, but they only go smaller, not bigger.

tuckoon
08-25-2016, 03:13 PM
Thank You Pete,

steve

pinstripe
08-25-2016, 03:25 PM
This page explains it with pictures http://www.precisebits.com/tutorials/er_collet_system.asp

Further to what Toolguy said, I don't think you are meant to go below the minimum size either. They have a 1 mm range, and you should stick to that to avoid damaging the collet.

Does your collet chuck have a drawbar, or is it only held in by the taper?

Magicniner
08-25-2016, 04:00 PM
Keep your collets, threads and tapers clean and lightly oiled, a dry lube is even better, I use Tungsten Disulphide.
Bearing ER collet nuts are worth a punt, the increased tightening force for reduced torque is nice.
If you're doing a repetitive job with several sizes of collet required, multiple collet nuts make this a more pleasant process.

- Nick

thaiguzzi
08-26-2016, 01:35 AM
MT4 will mean a drawbar and no long jobs thru the spindle. Personally, i would have bought a backplate mount type ER 32 chuck, and either bought a backplate or made one if not available commercially at a reasonable price. That way you can throw long jobs all the way thru the spindle.
Also ER 32 only goes up to 20mm collet size i believe. With MT4, would it not have been better to go the bigger ER 40?
My 2 Bahts worth...

tuckoon
08-26-2016, 02:20 AM