PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

Toma
11-16-2016, 03:17 PM
I apologize in advance for asking questions that have probably been asked here numerous times already.

I am a Wood Turner by trade. I have owned and turned on numerous wood lathes and currently work on a top of the line machine. Occasionally I have a need for some turned/ machined metal parts and I'd like to get a small bench model metal lathe, preferably with 10" swing. I've been scouring the forums, Ebay, Youtube, and Google for the past 7 days. I have heard that the Chinese/ Taiwan machines are crap and should be avoided, and I have heard that they are great, modern, and you get a lot for your money. I have heard that most of them come from the Sieg factories and have different labels. I have been looking at the stuff from Little Machine Shop and others.
There is this one: http://boltontool.com/Lathes/metal-lathe/10-x-22-bench-top-belt-driven-metal-lathe-machine-bt1022?gclid=CPmlt8mrrdACFUgbaQodkBEDIw

And this one: http://www.machinetoolonline.com/PM1030.html

I ran across this old one locally:http://www.alencotool.com/lathepages/lathe073041.html
I've looked at it in person twice so far. It is very clean, shows no wear, and is at a very reputable dealer that primarily sells way bigger stuff. I have a feeling that they did somebody a favor and took it out of grandpa's basement. But, from what I see and hear it is way overpriced.

At this point in my life I am not looking to make steam engines or go crazy, but I also don't want to limit myself too much. I can see the need for threading, but don't know that I'll need metric capabilities, I've been advised to buy used and that I could probably get what I paid for it if I don't like it later on-- I don't suspect I'd get $1900 bucks back on that Atlas.

Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks.
Tom

George Bulliss
11-17-2016, 08:08 AM