PDA

View Full Version : OT understanding colors ...

A.K. Boomer
02-28-2017, 09:55 AM
Im perplexed about colors,
mainly because the way were supposedly perceiving them does not totally add up,

I grasp the concept of what we see of an object as yellow is actually every color but yellow and that's why the spectrum of yellow light is reflecting yellow back at us, same with what we think of a blue object is actually everything but blue, or a green one or red,

but what about brown?

here's the part that does not make sense to me, if seeing bright yellow or blue or red is actually an admission that the color brown is really in all of them and that's the very reason you cannot see it, then how come when you mix all of these other colors together you end up seeing it?, the color brown that is...

just drawing back on what happened when I was a kid and got all my different play-dough colors mixed together...

Puckdropper
02-28-2017, 10:41 AM
I'm far from an expert on color theory, so keep this in mind. However, colors are displayed as a result of two different methods: additive and subtractive. Additive colors are like those from light. If you took a flashlight that was perfectly red, one that was perfectly blue, and one perfectly green, and shone them on the same spot you'd have a white dot. Computer monitors are this kind of device. With subtractive colors, they're like paint. Take red and blue and yellow, and mix them and you'll get black.

As for brown, yeah that's still a bit of a mystery to me. Of the neutral colors, it was the one that I never knew how to make from the color wheel.

danlb
02-28-2017, 10:55 AM
A real poor explanation:

It's confusing be cause we have two ways that we mix "colors". We can mix pigments or we can mix lights. Either way, our eyes can only sense Red, Blue and Green LIGHT. The level of each of those lights are mixed by our brains to be interpreted as other colors.