X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Croy9000
    • Dec 2016

Cant figure why lathe tool is grabbing while facing

I have a LMS 7x16 lathe and having an issue I cant figure out, total newb here. Often when I face 6061 alum, when the tool gets toward the center it wants to "grab" and pull down on the tool gouging the work.

For instance today I am am facing 3" round cutting about .010". I start off the outer section at about 650 RPM, which cuts nicely, and as I move toward the center I increase the RPM. At about 1" from center I have it up to about 1800 RPM, but thats where it starts this grabbing thing.

I suspect maybe I need to cutting faster that 1800 RPM? I can never find a calculator for facing, only turning. Is turning the same as far as speeds go? Is .010 too aggressive for a lightweight mill like mine?
  • mattthegamer463
    • Jul 2016

Is your tool on centre or is it above the part centre line? If above, any deflection downward from cutting forces will cause the tool to dig in more, making it worse. Does the issue get better with a slower feed rate?

EDIT sorry just realized you said facing the end.

Maybe try some lubricant? Slowing down the feed helps me get a better finish near the centre.
    Last edited by mattthegamer463; 03-10-2017, 10:37 AM.

Comment

• pinstripe
      • Nov 2015

You will never have enough RPM to get the recommended surface speed as you approach the center. Is the surface just a bit rough, or are the gouges making rings? A photo would help.

Comment

• lakeside53
        • Nov 2007

Buildup on the tool? (Use a light oil like wd40 or whateve ron aluminum anyhow)
        Tool above center?
        Too much tool overhand?

As explained above, SFM deceases to zero at the center so just be light-handed with the feed as you approach.

Comment

• BCRider
          • Dec 2015