PDA

View Full Version : What have I got

Chuckalac
05-27-2017, 11:51 AM
Hi I am new here and I am a very amateur machinist I have bought a South Bend model CL8187A Precision lathe. Ser# 12112RKL 16. It was only used by one man who died about 30 yrs ago and it has just sat there gathering dust and surface rust. The old boy used to do very precise work for the Milliken Textile Corp Engineering and research division.
The ways except for a few dings at the headstock under the chuck are impeccable. When you roll a wheel the feel is just beautiful. The lathe has the Taper turn attachment and about 250 lbs of attachments like 4 6 jaw chucks besides a 4 jaw independent and 3 jaw self centering, and other tooling. It also has 2 full sets of collets and drawbars etc. Its on a steel bench that came with it.
I think I may understand the serial # but that 16 at the end is beyond me and am I right to place the lathe in the 60"s. It stood for about 30 yrs.
I am in the process of scotch briting the jewel and when I get done I will put out in the sun to get warm so it will dry, and pressure wash all the painted surfaces. I like red wheels with black upper on the saddle and compound slide. Does anybody know what the shade of grey was that Southbend used.
I appreciate any help Chuck

Dan_the_Chemist
05-27-2017, 12:34 PM
Pictures are good !

JCHannum
05-27-2017, 12:44 PM
Welcome to the forum. I don't know what you have other than what sounds like a very nice South Bend, but do not pressure wash it.

LKeithR
05-27-2017, 12:44 PM
I would be very careful with the Scotchbrite--even the finest grit will remove some material from the ways. If
you want to remove rust use some fine steel wool. Requires a bit more elbow grease but it will do less damage
to the machine. I'm also not a fan of pressure washing an assembled machine--you'll drive water into every nook
and cranny on the lathe...

Mr Fixit
05-27-2017, 12:48 PM
Hi and Welcome Chuck,