X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cuslog
    • Jan 2009

3 Phase motor overspeed ?

Further to my previous thread re: VFD suppliers, I have ordered a Hitachi WJ200 - should be here in the next few days.
    Downloaded the manual and started studying it - wow, so many parameters to program !
    Now, I'm wondering about over speeding the motor. It'll be driving a 2hp Baldor M3587T 3ph, 1740rpm motor.
    I had never considered over speed as an option until I started reading the manual and VFDs in general.
    I think 6 ~60 hz are the factory defaults but I think its possible to input up to 400hz as a maximum.
    I'm relatively new to all of this and jumping it up to 400hz just seems like a bad idea to me but would it take 120 hz to effectively double the speed of the motor to ~3400 ? I mean, would the motor take it ? Depends, I suppose on the load and whether or not it would over heat ?
    TIA
  • rklopp
    • Feb 2003

120Hz should be fine, but there won't be much torque. It is likely the rotor in the 1740-RPM motor is the same as would be in a 3480-RPM version of the same motor.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

• MaxHeadRoom
      • Apr 2010

I usually do not run a standard 4 pole motor more than 120Hz, never had a problem.
      MY logic is that the motor manuf probably makes 2 pole also so to the same standard of balance and bearings etc would be incorporated in the 4 pole version.
      Max.

Comment

• DR
        • Jan 2003

Back in the day Baldor was a customer in their Sweo drive division. A Baldor engineer told me all newer Baldor motors are safely capable of 5,000 rpm.