PDA

View Full Version : Please Please Please some help!!!

zabelo
08-20-2004, 09:57 PM
Somebody PLEASE explain to me how to thread on one of these small lathes.
I am a Machinist by trade but I will admit
most of my time as a machinist has been spent
on big boring mills and verticle lathes.
I do thread on a tool room lathe from time to time and have no problems but I just can't
figure out cutting threads on this Birmingham.
It is a 11" x 26" with one screw for both feeding & threading.The thread chart looks like this.

LEVER I II I I I II
a| 45 48 36 36 36 36
b| 40 40 40 44 46 40
B| 8 9 10 11 11.5 12
A| 16 18 20 22 23 24
C| 32 36 40 44 46 48

It has 2 levers one marked A B C and an other
marked I II III.

Any help would be great!!
Maybe a website or a book?

wierdscience
08-20-2004, 11:17 PM
There apear to be lots of repeats in that selection,also upper and lower case letters,that might indicate a set of stud gears that need to be reversed to achieve the different pitches.

Other than that a 16 pitch looks as simple as lever one in "A"position and lever two in "I".Did you try this and have problems?

zabelo
08-20-2004, 11:50 PM
Thanks wierdscience,
Yes there is a lot of repeats and thats only half the chart.
I tried every combo and never got a feed that was even close to threading speed. I must be missing something simple.I have never turned on this type of small lathe before I bought this one.Every project I work on I need to cut threads and it is bugging the hell out of me.Birmingham and their distributor were no help.

any other thoughts?
thanks,
Zabelo

gizmo2
08-20-2004, 11:55 PM
This is a stab in the dark, as I've nevr had a Birmingham. But I did have a 9x20 Jet for a time, and somewhere on there should be a plate telling you which is shaft 'a' and 'b', and those will get the change gear with the tooth count indicated.