PDA

View Full Version : Question about determining tap and drill bit size

euta226
02-06-2018, 09:33 PM
Quick disclaimer, I'm very new to working with metal. I have a bolt that has a pitch of 32 SAE. The OD of the threads is 0.312 ". Seems like it is not a standard combination

My question is, how do I determine what size drill bit and tap that I need? The books I have don't go into enough detail and all the online tutorials I've found are of people stumbling through their explanations.

If you can recommend a site or book that is detailed and accurate, I would really appreciate it. Or if it's a lot more simple than I'm making it out to be, I would welcome any instructions you can give.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to hearing from you!

James

Doozer
02-06-2018, 09:42 PM
1"/32tpi=.031" pitch
.312" nominal dia-.031 pitch=.281" tap drill

-Doozer

lugnut
02-06-2018, 09:56 PM
Google is your friend. Dozens of charts available to use. Search tap vs drill bit size.

Mike Amick
02-06-2018, 10:44 PM
Look what apps are available for your phone. I have several on mine. Real handy

RichR
02-06-2018, 10:49 PM
Here's a nice chart from Little Machine Shop:
https://littlemachineshop.com/reference/tapdrill.php

ahidley
02-06-2018, 10:56 PM
It's a 5/16-32 extra fine thread. Drill a 9/32 pilot hole prior to tapping. That is for a 75% thread which is standard for steel threads.

Download an app for your phone as I just used and this info is easy to get.

Dam I posted my first error of the year. More to come

Doozer
02-06-2018, 11:10 PM
I'm a 21st century digital boy
I don't know how to read but I've got a lot of toys
My daddy's a lazy middle class intellectual
My mommy's on Valium, so ineffectual
Ain't life a mystery?

-Brett Gurewitz

adatesman
02-07-2018, 12:03 AM
7 posts in and no one suggested Machinery's Handbook, which has all of this in handy chart form as well as an explanation of how to calculate it for oddball threads?

BCRider
02-07-2018, 01:35 AM