PDA

View Full Version : The must have tool

RZR Trey
04-19-2018, 12:12 PM
Hello,

I'm new to the forum and new to machining, sorta. I'm a gear head and built my first car at 15. I used to operate a full 4x4 fabshop but realized don't make your hobby a job. Lol. I'm now doing the UTV thing out of my shop in my spare time. I just purchased a new 9x39 mill and 14x40 lathe. I have little to no experience with either. Other than the typical tooling, what is the one tool you find you can't live without? It can be home made or bought. I'm in the middle of a huge RZR project, 100% custom, only Polaris parts being used are the motor long block, transmission, and front differential. A project of this size I decided it'd be worth it to have my own mill and lathe, even if it's just for all the little stuff.

danlb
04-19-2018, 12:29 PM
Not typical tool? Google and the internet, often accessed via a cell phone.

I can look up the owners manual for most tools in my shop. I can find the expected hardness of that stick of 4140 that's in my junk bin. I can order parts.

It's a very handy tool.

04-19-2018, 12:35 PM
The thing I used daily on those two machines was a dial test indicator, with an Indicol holder.... that fit onto both machines.
And of course also a 6 or 8 inch Vernier caliper.

JRouche
04-19-2018, 12:48 PM
My reading glasses. JR

enginuity
04-19-2018, 01:12 PM
Max and I each made a list of 10 tools that are important to us in our home shops in a podcast:

https://thecogwheel.net/2017/02/05/home-shop-machinists-podcast-episode-3-10-tools/

Here is the direct mp3:

https://thecogwheel.files.wordpress.com/2017/02/episode_003_10_tools.mp3

JoeLee
04-19-2018, 01:21 PM
An assortment of end mills, and a coffee pot !!

JL...............

Paul Alciatore
04-19-2018, 01:41 PM
The ONE tool? No such thing. Different tools exist for different purposes.

Screwdriver? I can't imagine doing almost anything without one.

Vise? I have many.