PDA

View Full Version : Machining 1100 alloy aluminum??

oxford
05-07-2018, 07:46 PM
Does anyone have any experience machining 1100 alloy aluminum? I have a job coming up where I need to OD turn some 2" barstock down to 43mm, face both ends, and drill a 2mm hole 25mm deep in one end. I have never worked with this alloy before. Any tips on speeds/feeds and lubricant? I am doing this on a manual lathe that does not have flood coolant. I was planning on using a ccgt insert for turning the OD.

ACHiPo
05-07-2018, 08:00 PM
Ok, I'll qualify my response first by saying I've never machined 1100 (basically pure) aluminum BUT I did have success machining oxygen free high purity copper which cuts like taffy, so I'm guessing they're similar. After roughing the copper to shape, I used a shear tool that I ground myself from a HSS blank to finish the part. Pretty easy tool geometry, decent finish. Good luck and post your results.

oxford
05-07-2018, 08:05 PM
I also forgot to mention that tolerances are pretty loose on this for I know the OD, probably the length as well. I am a little worried about the 2mm hole though.

MattiJ
05-07-2018, 08:56 PM
I also forgot to mention that tolerances are pretty loose on this for I know the OD, probably the length as well. I am a little worried about the 2mm hole though.

Buy good, polished hss drills and peck like crazy with good aluminium cutting fluid.

I have drilled some 30mm deep and 1mm dia holes to "pure" aluminium and I can admit that I broke quite a few drills before getting it right..

05-07-2018, 10:10 PM
I hope I am wrong but expect a lot of piling up buildup on tool , you must keep stopping to remove.
I had a big AL round, I was taking 5 plus inches out the middle, it must have gotten annealed back to 0 temper.
Worst crap I ever turned.
Took so long I would have been better off buying another piece.

Toolguy
05-07-2018, 10:20 PM