PDA

View Full Version : Scaling up project dimensions

QSIMDO
10-27-2018, 02:05 PM
I found a project I'd like to build (JRW sheet metal brake) but it's a bit lighter than I'd like.
Would scaling up the component sizes by a percentage factor be a successful way to do this?

Tony907
10-27-2018, 02:44 PM
I'm no engineer but I would think scaling to the force required for a bend would be a better way to ensure performance. Take for example, (it's an example...) if it took 1 ton to put a 90 bend in 1/8" mild steel, that means that 2 tons would be sufficient to do the same bend in 1/4 mild steel. The same consideration needs to be applied to large increases in length.

Like I said...not and engineer, and my advise is worth what you paid for it.

BCRider
10-27-2018, 03:19 PM
I think the idea is fine in principle. But when it comes to doing so it won't be as easy as you might think. First off material only comes in given sizes. Second is that if you alter those sizes you'll also need to alter the parts that connect to them to adjust for the size changes. So basically you either re-engineer it on the plan and make a whole new plan or you do the re-engineering on the fly in the shop. And finally if the goal is to size it up by, say, 50% and use 50% larger sizes, if they are available, then the other issue is that the metal does not flex in a scale like manner. If you enlarge the whole machine then it's quite possible that you need to increase the size of the material by more than the scale factor to achieve the proper stiffness for the middle of the span of the parts.

Tony, you posted above;

Take for example, (it's an example...) if it took 1 ton to put a 90 bend in 1/8" mild steel, that means that 2 tons would be sufficient to do the same bend in 1/4 mild steel.