PDA

View Full Version : HSS Basic Lathe Turning Tool

OaklandGB
11-15-2018, 11:47 AM
Just getting into machining and tools to use in the Lathe, a small PM 10x22. Had some success grinding a basic turning tool in 3/8" HHS that worked leaving what this amateur thinks was a reasonable finish on round 3/4 inch mystery metal used for foundation layout stakes. Hey, its cheap, and makes for a lot of practice chips.

Anyway, I noticed that some "experts" leave the "leading" or left edge of the tool parallel, or in line with the shank, with no angle just the relief below the edge, whilst others will provide a small 2 to 4 degree angle to the right. That would not allow for a 90 degree shoulder in the resulting cut. I opted for a couple degree angle to the right on mine. Various experienced sources on YT show both as their "basic" cutting tool.

Is this just a personal thing or is one preferred over the other? I'm just starting out...slowly...so thought I'd ask.

Thanks for any thoughts or comments on this very basic question.

Gary

11-15-2018, 11:57 AM
Clearance, clearance, cleararance.. if you have none it won't cut.

MattiJ
11-15-2018, 11:58 AM
Just getting into machining and tools to use in the Lathe, a small PM 10x22. Had some success grinding a basic turning tool in 3/8" HHS that worked leaving what this amateur thinks was a reasonable finish on round 3/4 inch mystery metal used for foundation layout stakes. Hey, its cheap, and makes for a lot of practice chips.

Anyway, I noticed that some "experts" leave the "leading" or left edge of the tool parallel, or in line with the shank, with no angle just the relief below the edge, whilst others will provide a small 2 to 4 degree angle to the right. That would not allow for a 90 degree shoulder in the resulting cut. I opted for a couple degree angle to the right on mine. Various experienced sources on YT show both as their "basic" cutting tool.