X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mikemo
    • Nov 2018

Shop inside the house

Hello all. I had a question that I was hoping to get some insight on.

I'm very new to the machining hobby, and I'm going to pick up my first big tool tomorrow morning, a Logan 955 lathe. It will live in the garage for now in the space that was occupied by the motorcycle I just sold.

My wife and I are "empty nesters" with two empty bedrooms in the house. I was thinking about seizing one of the spare rooms to use as a shop, since the garage is quite full of old Toyotas. Along with the lathe will be a MIG, TIG, horizontal bandsaw, benchtop drill press, bench grinder. Some day, hopefully, a nice small mill. However, I'm worried about how messy that will become. Removing the flooring down to the concrete and covering the walls is easy (laminate flooring), but oil, metal chips, smoke, etc. is what I'm worried about.

Does anyone have a metal shop inside the house, or am I crazy?

Thanks
    Mike M.
  • Toolguy
    • Jan 2010

The machining in the house will be messy, but can be dealt with. The noise may annoy the better half. I would not do welding inside the house due to fire hazard.
    Kansas City area

Comment

• Ringo
      • Dec 2018

My guess is No-Way.
      Metal chips and swarf tracked all over the house, smelly sulpher oil, noisy chatter, not to mention the smelly smoke of sulfer oil when you really 'get it dialed in'.

Comment

• rohart
        • Aug 2002

My shop shares an attached single garage with my motorcycles - the door is a straight ten feet into the kitchen.

I have lathe, mill, drill, grinder, TIG, solvents - all the usual stuff. I get no complaints. The daughter whose bedroom was above the garage has flow the nest, so I can even machine late.

I suppose there's a smoky smell when I'm doing welding over 50 amps or so, but then I shut and lock the door whenever I'm welding to stop idiot family intruding and blinding themselves.