PDA

View Full Version : Screw and Glue, or just Screw

Dan_the_Chemist
02-28-2019, 02:36 AM
Still designing my CNC router.

Modern airplanes are held together with a combination of mechanical fasteners and adhesives. I am looking at this component and wondering if there is any benefit to using both screws and adhesive to build this component. It is the cradle for the water cooled router. There are more features to be added, but let's just focus on the strength and rigidity of the aluminum to aluminum joint shown.

The goal is to create a part which will deform very little under the application of a transient sideways load. Would a modern adhesive actually help, or would I just be wasting time and money?

https://i.imgur.com/t4IgBzD.jpg

epicfail48
02-28-2019, 04:28 AM
Personally i cant say id see any adhesive offering anything the screws dont, but im also an amateur hackjob so make of that what you will. Rather than adhesive, have you considered adding some pins? Screws for attachment, pins for positioning and to lock down movement

bandsawguy
02-28-2019, 06:47 AM
I would say no to glue but I like the idea of say 4 dowel pins to positively lock it in place.

CCWKen
02-28-2019, 07:05 AM
My question would be; Why is that part two pieces? Trying to save a buck on thinner stock or it's necessary for the design because something is held between the two parts we can't see? :cool:

Eliminate the glue and make the cradle walls thicker. The "glue" won't help where you're going to have the sideways load. And why six fasteners? :confused:

What's the scale of this part?

RMinMN
02-28-2019, 07:15 AM