PDA

View Full Version : diamond dresser

jaybird
11-05-2004, 01:19 AM
This may sound like a real novice question but I just gotta ask.

I purchased a HF tool grinder a few days ago and the wheels are covered with paint. I also had bought a diamond wheel dresser and I have never used one before. My idea was to knock off the paint with the diamond dresser.

This is my neophyte question. When the diamond touches the wheel, is the diamond supposed to light up like ET's finger?

I was just amazed and dumb struck.

J http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif

tattoomike68
11-05-2004, 01:48 AM
painted wheels?(is it just dirty and some overspray)

oh man that cant be right, you can dress them if they dont fly apart and you need to machine them like a wild man on a junk grinder outside.

and yes the diamond will light right up.(wont hurt it bit)

I have run some ceramic tooling in the lathe and its like the 4th of july big time, realy fun

after you dress a wheel you dont want it fine take .002- to .005 on the last dressing and crank it fast and course dress it it will run cooler much longer.

man buy some new wheels if they are painted for safty first and then health reasons.
grinding wheels are made of evil stuff and so is tooling, not what you want to be smelling.

my big ? is what the solvents in the paint have done and the out of balence of the said wheels.

you can "Ring test" a wheel but the paint might ruin that plan.

I would not trust the wheel.

I used to joke to rookie surface grinders that broken wheels have a built in cooling cycle.(every dent in the wall had a story)

be safe, thats #1. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif

[This message has been edited by tattoomike68 (edited 11-05-2004).]

jaybird
11-05-2004, 01:58 AM
I plan to trash the wheels. I have HF to replace them and have just bought a diamond wheel.

It looks like the paint has soaked into the A/O wheels and the wheels are not salvageable.

J