PDA

View Full Version : Need Info on Lathe made in Tacoma WA by Jet Equipment

Sifu_Karl
11-07-2004, 02:47 PM
Hi,

I'm New here and Hoping that someone can give some information on a Metal Lathe made by Jet Equipment & Tool out of Tacoma Wa. The model number is: 1024 PY. It's a 10" Swing by 24" center, 110/240v 1 1/2HP 1phase.

I have an chance to pick this machine up at a "NicePrice" but am worried that I may not be able to find replacement parts for it. The machine works fine but only has a limited amount of tooling such as only one 4' 3jaw chuck.

All I can find online is for Jet Industries.. but it's the "Chinese" machines and there is a Jet Industries in CaNaDa and they don't have metal lathes just wood.

I'm new to the "machining" hobby and looking to be able to make my own parts for the 20 plus british motorcycles I have in various stages of rebuilding.

I have a limited amount of experience in Machine shop practice.

I'm thanking you all in advance for any help,
Sifu_Karl

BillH
11-07-2004, 02:50 PM
The Jet you speak of is made in China. I never heard of a 10x24 Jet lathe though.

SGW
11-07-2004, 05:40 PM
Jet Equipment & Tool must be the original name of what is now Jet Industries. As far as I know, they've never actually made their own stuff, it's just a brand name on import (occasionally domestic) stuff made by others.

nheng
11-07-2004, 05:52 PM
If you search this forum and www.practicalmachinist.net (http://www.practicalmachinist.net) "general" forum for Jet 1024P you will find numerous references. It's pretty easy to get parts from Jet, in some cases for fairly old machines but you'll have to call them.

Try www.jettols.com (http://www.jettols.com) for contact info.

Den

Dave Opincarne
11-07-2004, 06:16 PM
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by SGW: