PDA

View Full Version : Welding Stainless

NSDesign
11-07-2004, 03:46 PM
I am a welding newbie and have two questions about welding stainless. Material is 304 structural shapes 1/8 and 1/4 thick. I was thinking 308L .030 solid wire. I have a Hobart Handler 175 and am running 75/25 shield gas. Application is mostly decorative, the welds need to hold and look good, but will not be holding 10,000lbs over a gaggle of nuns and infants.

First - can I get away with the 75/25 or do I have to have tri-mix? What should I expect?

Second - is there anything else wrong with my plan (wire, welder, etc.) I have heard a wide range of stories - Everything from how impossible it is to weld stainless without professional size gear and talent, to "it welds just like plain steel, don't sweat it."

Before I shell out the bucks for material, I would love to make sure it will all work out.

Thanks,

Alan

aboard_epsilon
11-07-2004, 04:03 PM
LOOKS GOOD TO ME
the only thing you have to remember is to crank up your amps more than mild steel or you wont get the ss to flow out and it will be beady.
usually about 10-15 percent more.
not sure about your gas .as the gas here in the uk i use is argoshield-5 this stuff seemed to work ok.
175 amp welder is plenty enough .
there again im only an amature ...but Ive had good results.
all the best...mark

JRouche
11-07-2004, 04:32 PM
Hello, I actually prefer to weld stainless, it welds very clean. I have not MIG welded stainless though. When MIG welding steel I use the argon/CO2 mix. But when welding aluminum with the wire box I use pure argon just as when TIG welding. So I wonder if you wouldn't use pure argon for the stainless also? JRouche

[This message has been edited by JRouche (edited 11-07-2004).]

klemchuk
11-07-2004, 06:17 PM
I've done tons of stainless with a mig setup. Use trimix or argon! 75/25 just won't cut it. best of luck

wierdscience
11-07-2004, 08:59 PM