PDA

View Full Version : Fly cutters

Z
11-06-2004, 04:58 PM
I am fairly new to machining and am slowly building up the tooling for my vertical mill. I'm saving my pennies for a decient boring head. I've seen some fly cutter sets about and was wondering if I could use these for crude boring operations, and also what other operations do they lend themselves to?
Manythanks
Z

Michael Az
11-06-2004, 05:41 PM
Yes, a flycutter could be used to enlarge a crude hole. Their main purpose is to machine a larger surface. Last week I had a 12" square plate that I needed to use on my welding table. It was warped about 1/16". So I used a flycutter to resurface the top of it. Only took three passes. You can't take too deep of a cut with them.
Michael

[This message has been edited by Michael Az (edited 11-06-2004).]

SGW
11-06-2004, 05:50 PM
Sure, you ought to be able to use a flycutter to enlarge a hole. The thing you won't have, that a boring head gives you, is fine adjustment on the diameter, but with sufficient care you ought to be able to come pretty close to a desired size.

Incidentally, I've got one of the Travers Tool "precision import" 2" diameter boring heads, and while a Criterion boring head may indeed be slightly better I sure can't see anything wrong with the one from Travers for less than half the price.

Oh -- another thing. When you get a boring head, get the proper shank to fit your milling machine taper. I started off with a straight shank, to be held in a collet, but because of the length of lever arm that a boring head creates it's not rigid enough.

charlie coghill
11-06-2004, 10:57 PM
Friday I wanted to mount three gages that required a two inch hole. The closest hole saw that I had was 1.750". I used the hole saw to cut the three holes and a fly cutter to open the holes to the 1.750 dia. This was in 16 gage plate with the metal clamped to a piece of 1 inch plywood.
You do need to watch the tool bit clearances.
Charlie

G.A. Ewen
11-06-2004, 11:16 PM