PDA

View Full Version : Manual feeding by feel?

JeffG
11-11-2004, 10:20 PM
I'm a newbie without local contacts - so thanks for your patience.

I have a manual bench knee mill similar to the Grizzly G3102. How do I tell if I'm feeding (X or Y axis) at the right rate? I can calculate a handwheel rotation rate, but wouldn't an experienced machinist do this by feel?

ben78
11-11-2004, 10:32 PM
I am by no means experienced or knowledgable in machining, but I hack away.. When I feed I do it by a combination of what sounds right, looks right and feels right. The combination will quickly tell you if you are feeding too fast, too slow and you just waste your time http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//biggrin.gif

If you break endmills you are going to fast OR your spindle speed isn't high enough, but faster spindle speeds doesn't mean you can feed faster as you still need to work out the sfpm of the tool for the material...

Elninio
11-11-2004, 10:43 PM
well you can feal by hand but it wont always be precision, if ya cant use one hand with ease then your pushin too hard. go slow on steel, bit faster on aluminum. I guess if you practiced alot you would get get a "feal" for it

J Tiers
11-12-2004, 12:04 AM
After a while, you do get a feel for what is working right.

Sound is important, is the machine laboring? Does the cutter have a "swish" of smooth cutting, or a judder, squeak, or other odd sound?

Does it feel like its working smoothly? Your hand can tell if the movement is even and related to cutting, or if it just got much harder to move it.

I have ball-cranks on my mill, and I have had to develop a two-hand rotation technique that keeps it going pretty evenly.

I think a "real machinist" would probably be at work, and would just engage the feed, or the boss would have a soft word in his (her) ear......mine has no feed except my cranking.

BillH
11-12-2004, 12:12 AM