PDA

View Full Version : mill drill ?

japcas
11-12-2004, 11:14 AM
Hey guys, I have been reading from this forum for a while and finally decided to join to ask a few questions. I am a full time machinist and run all sorts of machines at work, full maunual and cnc but I haven't worked on any mill drills and I am thinking about buying one for home. I have a desire to build some of the mini ic engines and steam and atmospheric engines. Anyway I have just about settled on the Top Tech geared head mill from Penn tool co. I like the size and preferr the slower spindle speed offered by the geared head. Anyway do any of you have experience with this mill or one similar and if so would this make a satisfactory mill to hobby with? Thanks for any info.

japcas
11-12-2004, 06:34 PM
Sorry, I may not have give you enough info about the mill. It is the dovetail column mill with the swivel head by Top Tech. The model number is dm-45. Any info about it or one of the clones would be appreciated.

PHiers
11-12-2004, 08:47 PM
japcas,
I have the wholesale tools version of the mill drill you are looking at. There are also sold by grizzly, enco, lathemaster and others. I like mine real well but remember, I have never ran a bridgeport on a lagun or a deckel either! When I got mine home I cleaned it up, changed the oil in the head and put it to work, no problems at all. I did buy a kurt vise for it and a jacobs ball bearing chuck. I also added a table power feed and just recently, a 3 axis dro from shooting star. As with any import it would be nice to see it before you buy. This is a picture of my mill.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v503/PHiers/Shop11.jpg

------------------
Paul in NE Ohio

Elninio
11-12-2004, 10:04 PM