PDA

View Full Version : Tool black?

Doc Nickel
11-15-2004, 11:29 PM
I'm just starting to make some new QC toolpost blocks for my A-series Phase-II lathe toolpost.

The stock blocks are 1"x1-1/2" (by whatever length) so I bought a 3' bar of 1X1-1/2" hotrolled mild steel flatbar. I'll be chopping it up, tapping for the setscrews, yadda yadda.

My main goal is to make some blocks that take carbide inserts directly (rather than clamping a carbide toolholder into the tool block.)

Anyway, I want to "black" them, when I'm done, so they more or less match my original blocks. It's a surface-blackening that looks a lot like gun-blue, except more blackish. It seems pretty durable too, since I've been using this set for several years, and they show little wear.

Is there a good, quality method or formula for blackening raw steel? Doesn't have to be "flat" black or "gloss" black, it just needs to be a somewhat rust-preventative surface prep that comes close to matching my existing toolpost blocks.

Thanks.
Doc.

wierdscience
11-15-2004, 11:39 PM
Doc,if your refering to the tool black kits,I have tried it several times,it does work,but it isn't very good at preventing rust IMHO,just makes the parts look good.

Doc Nickel
11-16-2004, 12:47 AM
Well, the "preventing rust" part has more to do with fingerprints and such, than trying to protect it from rain. I don't use flood coolants, just oil and WD40 as cutting lubes, so there's not that much too worry about.

What tool black kit? Is there a homebrew formula?

Doc.

Dick Plasencia
11-16-2004, 02:02 AM
Coat the part to be blackened with motor oil and bake at 350 to 400 degrees until the oil has solidified or evaporated and the part is black. This coating is rust and scratch proof. It's what they used 100 years ago and it works fine for me. I have some parts in daily use and they show no wear.