PDA

View Full Version : Need some ideas.

rkw1969
12-02-2004, 02:40 PM
Hey guys, newbie here. I am having a hell of a time trying to figure something out so maybe you guys can help me. I am trying to mill 4 slots on a piece of 7/8 round solid. I am going to mill the slots 3/16 and want to have equal amount of material between slots. My question is how do i center the mill spindle with the work clamped in a vise and how do i rotate the stock for each cut keeping it centered after it has been turned. I dont have a rotory table so thats out. Thanks

Joel
12-02-2004, 02:54 PM
Use an edgefinder to find center. You can go off a vise jaw or a portion of the round hanging out past the vise. There are also other ways.

A couple of cheap, fast, and easy ways to index 4 divisions are by using a square collet block or a spin indexer.

hitnmiss
12-02-2004, 03:05 PM
start with a piece of rod longer than the finished part.

Cheek mill one end of the rod so it looks like a fat regular screwdriver, then raise the mill quill and cut the top flat too. Now you have a 3-sided "square" end.

mount the 3-sided square end in a vice and mill the last round portion off to make a square end.

Now you can index the part in the vice to get 4 slots.

Edge finder will work to center or use a dial indicator to center the bar with higher accuracy.

rkw1969
12-02-2004, 03:47 PM
man that was fast guys. i didnt think about the square collet block. ill try it. i have to do a bunch of so now i need to order more tooling. Haha

Spin Doctor
12-02-2004, 04:39 PM
Yup collet blocks are handy fixturing devices. Even for those days when you need something with an odd number of sides

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v19/markandannie/Collet%20Blocks%202/MVC-004S.jpg

tattoomike68
12-02-2004, 05:07 PM
sometimes I use a new sprocket as an indexer with a shaft. a 16 tooth with a 7/8 bore is an easy deal. if you get inventive it works great.