PDA

View Full Version : Steam power

Flash319
12-10-2004, 01:44 PM
I am about to design a steam engine for use as a generator. I know there are a few of you out there that really know what you are talking about when it comes to steam. I am new to it, a young guy. It is very interesting to me because you need heat to make it work. Heat can come from anything and future technology make make it very frendly to make heat from hydrogen or some other technology.

Okay here are my questions;

What is a typical presure that they run on? Do most engines use a set "intake dwell time" or is there a reliable way to very this dwell with load?

BillH
12-10-2004, 01:57 PM
intake dwell time? Most hobby boilers are around 120 psi or less. They are built usualy with a safety factor of atleast 6.
Most steam engines have variable cut off that is done with the valve gear to conserve steam. Kinda like a gearbox.

Flash319
12-10-2004, 02:02 PM
I guess cutoff is what I mean when I say dwell. I am a gas engine guy that is why I use that term. I would like to keep the valving simple. If I can't, I will make it electronic control, but I don't want to do that for reliability concerns.

BillH
12-10-2004, 02:08 PM
Here, download these programs, you can visualize how its all done, some very simple ones to more complex ones.
Now if your going to run a generator, maybe a steam turbine would be easier for you.
http://www.tcsn.net/charlied/
You can adjust the valve timing, and the dimensions, and see how it affects the gear.

Flash319
12-10-2004, 02:11 PM
That is what I want to use it for. I just don't think I could build a turbine without some very good tools and equipment. I don't even know where to begin to make a turbine blade.

rollin45
12-10-2004, 02:18 PM
You may want to take a look at a Tesla Turbine. There are some folks who are trying to make them for electrical generation,I have lost the web site, but a quick search should turn it up.