PDA

View Full Version : Continuing chuck woes

kenrinc
01-05-2005, 01:35 AM
So my wacked chuck http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif I put away and am now using the Bison which is much better but I'm trying to figure out if it's bad too or there is something else wrong. Understand that I am a novice so it could be something I'm doing that might be causing it. It's a 5" threaded chuck with 1.5" x 8 threads and screws on the spindle. The spindle runout at the shoulder measures .0005" as does the spindle itself. The chuck is a loose fit until it snugs up to the shoulder. When indicating with a DI using the outside of the chuck, pointing the DI down I get .005 and if I chuck some drill rod in the chuck the rod is out .007 (more the further out I go). Any ideas? When looking at the chuck spin it actually looks like it is spinning ecentrically around the spindle axis. I'm wondering if I take the chuck apart and re machine the backplate to my lathe that it might take care of the problem. Looking for a list of things to check. Spindle bearings seem OK to me; nothing moves when chucked and I feel no play. I do feel radial play, as in bearing backlash but not back to front or up and down play. Logan 10"

Ken-

[This message has been edited by kenrinc (edited 01-05-2005).]

[This message has been edited by kenrinc (edited 01-05-2005).]

ERBenoit
01-05-2005, 07:07 AM