PDA

View Full Version : Through headstock lathe question

Ardent
01-24-2005, 09:54 AM
First off I'll make it known I'm very new to this, and I apologize for any stupid questions. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//smile.gif

I had another thread asking for advice on machines, and now I have a question regarding through headstock lathes.

I will need to be able to face off 1" diameter stock that may be up to 24" in length, what shop lathes under $1500 (less the better) can accomodate 1" through headstock operations if any? Are any of the grizzly machines capable of through headstock operations? Anything else you can tell me about through headstock stuff please shoot as I'm looking to learn all I can.

Thanks again,

Angus

SGW
01-24-2005, 10:27 AM
Any lathe that takes 5C collets can handle 1" through the headstock...slightly more, in fact.
While truly ancient metalworking lathes had no through-hole, I think any lathe you find that's not a museum piece will have a through-hole in the headstock.

Ardent
01-24-2005, 12:36 PM
That's great news and thanks for the help.

egpace
01-24-2005, 12:44 PM
A lathe with a 4C collet will also accommodate 1" stock. The hole through the spindle is 1.125+. Some Rockwells, Old Hardinge lathes, & I believe, the 11" South Bend. 4C collets only go up to 3/4 round, but the stock can be held in the lathe chuck. As far as the Asian lathes go, just review the specs.
Ed

[This message has been edited by egpace (edited 01-24-2005).]

Spin Doctor
01-24-2005, 03:36 PM