Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: O/T pull behind scraper

Question O/T pull behind scraper

Hi All;
    Anyone got plans for a pull/tow behind scraper that can be used with a 14hp garden tractor, or know where I can get them?
    Thsnks
    Jim
    Jim

Get two lengths of used rail or 4" to 6" I beam. Weld on a couple of pad eyes. Chain them together one 2 feet behind the other to make a drag so each is at a shallow but opposite angle parallel to the tractor axle. Hitch the drag with a chain bridle to the tractor's drawbar.

Ten trips up and down a gravel driveway will make a big improvement in the bumps and ruts. Do it once a week thereafter. You'll still have to do a little shovel and fill work but that's part of the fun.

[This message has been edited by Forrest Addy (edited 04-27-2005).]

Does that work better than a standard rear blade on a 3-point? I've been grooming my driveway with that for a couple years, and I'd really like something better. Heavier is probably what I need.

Assuming you have a 3 point hitch; look for a 3 or 4 foot box scraper at tractor supply stores; probably will cost about $300 to $400.
    The best for grading and scraping using a tractor. Anything longer than 4 foot would be too much for 14 hp.
    If you don't have 3 point hitch on your tractor then get a plow blade and use it backwards to scrape.

Forrest,

that is a GREAT idea!!!!! i've been looking for a blade of some sort, and your idea is what i think i'll do. i just have to keep visiting the scrap yard to see when they bring in the next batch of I-beams. any excuse to visit the scrap yard.

andy b.
    The danger is not that computers will come to think like men - but that men will come to think like computers. - some guy on another forum not dedicated to machining

OK, thanks for the replies guys;
    Forrest,