Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gatling Gun Plans

Question Gatling Gun Plans

As a newbie I am starting a long term project to build scaled down (.22 CALIBER) Gatling Gun. Does anybody have some experience and advice with the various plans on the market? I am currently looking at offerings from:
    D&E Modeling in Kentwood, LA.
    and
    RG-G INC. in Trinidad, CO.
    or is there another source in the same price range for plans $50-$60 that is considered better???

This won't be my first project but it will be one I will apply "lessons learned" as I become (hopefully) more adept in machining.
    Thanks for ANY advice.... Ron

I have the D&E plans. I can say that the plans are neatly drawn (CAD w/ solid model isos), and look to be very usuable. I haven't made any of the parts, so I can't say if the plans are completely accurate or not but they certainly look great.

I have both sets of plans, but have not found time as yet to tackle one.

I think the D&E plans make up into a much nicer looking gun when finished. I have seen both, and discussed them with Dale Detrich at the NAMES show. He has built both and also prefers the D&E.
    Jim H.

Question

In line with D&E then is it better to get the CD-Rom or the actual plans????? I am retired from 39 years of computers but as a newbie would actual plans be better than reviewing on a CD????? Are the plans 8.5 x 11 or larger scale?? Questions Question.... Ron

Seems to me the plans on CD would be the only way to go. I can not think of a reason to get a printed version intead of the plans on CD ROM.

The electronic version would be scalable to any size paper for printing hard copies. And you can make back up copies for long term storage protection. JRouche

jfsmith Guest

I would upscale the plans to .410 shells and then use deer slugs. More fun and maybe a candidate for Knob Creek.

Jerry

I'M BUILDING ONE BASED ON RG-G PLANS.
    THIS IS NOT A CHEAP GUN TO BUILD.