Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: CNC Shaper?

Lightbulb CNC Shaper?

I just got a good look at a 24" shaper. I have seen CNC lathes and mills, does anyone make a cnc shaper?

I am new to metalworking and I am trying to learn everything I can. I see how shapers were used alot in the past but the machine shop I have friends at doesnt seem to use them.

Dont bomb for the question, it just seems to fill a gap I see in machine technology. Mills and lathes have limits.

By the way just bought a SouthBend 9" model "c". I pick it up monday. This is going to be a long weekend!

Marc

Thumbs up

Welcome to the world of hobbist machining! I am new to metalworking also, just finished redoing a South Bend 8" lathe. It is a honey! Congrats on buying a great little lathe. A CNC shaper sounds neat, too bad the use of the shaper is all but dead in commercial shops.