Thread: 6" slitting saw speeds and feeds?

Question 6" slitting saw speeds and feeds?

Gentlemen,

I'm new to machining and need your help.

I'm cutting a 1.800" deep slot in 4140 tube. The diameter is 1.400 and the wall thickness is .400". I have a 6" x .64 x 1 HSS jewelers saw with 232 teeth

I've tried the RPM=CSx4/D and F=f*u*N method and come up with crazy numbers.

Can someone run through the process of setting up feeds and speeds for this cut.

Thanks,

Jim

Are you sure it isn't
    .064 thick? I'm getting 80-100 fpm

What are your crazy numbers? Just a WAG, I'd guess 58 rpm might be reasonable.

That 6" dia. saw is giving you 1.7 feet/rev, more or less, and if you go on the high end of Rustybolt's fpm estimate, you get 100/1.7 or about 58 rpm.
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.