Thread: getting started in gunsmithing?

Wink getting started in gunsmithing?

i have always been fasinated with the workmanship inguns both old and new and have been thinking of taking up gunsmithing. Can anyone tell me away of learning the trade that wont cost me a small fortune? I have been a machinist for 4 years and around machinery for 7. thanks in advance.

Thumbs up

Village press has a new book by Steve Acker as well as a book on a falling block action.

NRA used to have many books on gunsmithing. Guy Lautard had a video on rifling barrels (roll your own!) www.lautard.com

Hope that helps, be safe and have fun.
    Dave

I think there's generally an ad in the American Rifleman for a gunsmithing school. It's in Trinidad, Colorado, perhaps?

I'd definitely get some professional training before I got too involved. Having 50,000 psi blow up 6" from one's face would not be a good thing.

There are a lot of things like mounting sights, buttplates, and other job not involving chambering, barrels, firing pins, etc. though, that are all part of a gunsmith's job and require skill and good workmanship but aren't necessarily lethal if they're screwed up (unless the gun's owner gets really annoyed at you). Check out the Brownell's catalog (ad in American Rifleman) and buy the two volumes of "Gunsmith Kinks." LOTS of assorted information about all aspects of gunsmithing.
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
    If at first you don't succeed, try, try, again. Then give up. There's no point in being a damn fool about it. -- W.C. Fields

Smile