Thread: VFD

Post VFD

I recently purchased an older BP mill and am in the process of cleaning, adjusting and getting it set up. I have purchased a VFD to run the 1hp 3 phase 220v motor using single phase 220v and have two questions.

1. The VFD has three outlet wires - T1, T2, T3 (not counting ground) but the three terminals on the side of the motor/reversing switch do not have the leads identified. Are the leads T1 to T3 left to right? does it matter?

2. I read in a post on another board that you shouldn't run from a VFD through a switch like a reversing switch, you should use the reverse function on the VFD. I'm not good with electrical stuff but I don't see why this would matter. Is this true? should I just leave the reversing switch in one position?

Any help for the electrically challenged would be appreciated.

Reggie

You can hook up the 3 leads in any order. The only thing is, the motor may run backward when it should run forward. If that happens, just reverse any two of them.

As for #2, yes. Otherwise you can get a spike caused by the motor inductance that can overload the VFD. Switch on/off/reverse ONLY with the VFD. Assuming you got an instruction manual with the VFD, it ought to have a caution about this.
    When I put a VFD on my milling machine, I took the knob off the machine's on/off switch so I wouldn't acidentally use it in a moment of stupidity.

[This message has been edited by SGW (edited 11-24-2003).]
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.