Thread: mag starter

Post mag starter

Can anyone explain how a magnetic starter works? I have one that someone took the terminals off ?? How do i tell which is which?? L1-L2-L3-T1-T2-T3???? Thanks Greg

Hmmm...let's see...basically, there's a coil that when energized pulls the contacts into the closed position. The coil is energized usually by one of the incoming hot leads such that it latches the contacts closed. Loss of incoming power will de-energize the coil shutting off the machine. This is a nice safety feature, like in the event of a power outage the machine will not start when power is restored.

Can't you trace the terminals through the contacts?

I probably could but --i am an electrical idiot!!

Matt
    Normally L1 (line 1) corresponds to T1 (trip or load 1)

There may be timing heaters depending on the type of starter. (adding confusion - and I don't remember what they are for either I am not an electrician)

There should also be terminals for the pull down coil, or they may be mounted on the coil itself.

L1,L2,L3 refer to the power lines coming into the starter contacts on the same side as the coil, while T1,T2,T3 refer to the lines out going to the motor leads on the opposite side.The other thing you need to know about your starter is the coil voltage,they come usually in 12,24 110,220 and440vac.You need to determine which one you have before you can go any further.
    I just need one more tool,just one!

Lightbulb

If you have the complete starter, somewhere in the housing there should be a schematic and wiring diagram.

Besides the what was mentioned above, you also need to have the correct overload protection heaters installed or if its a newer one you have to adjust the overload.

There is usually a chart in the housing giving the proper heaters for a specific amperage range. The amperage will be found on the nameplate of the motor. Generally mag starters are used on 3 phase equipment, but there are single phase units out there too.