Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why not linear motion style rails on a lathe?

Default Why not linear motion style rails on a lathe?

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, catching an interest in machine work. I've been reading the posts here and at the practical machinist website trying to learn something about machine work. It started with the desire to build a 3 axis cnc router for woodwork...but then I got to thinking that I might like to build a metalworking lathe too.

I have bought a couple of instruction books for building lathes: Gingery's "The Metal Lathe", Rama Machines,"Metal Lathe" (Using Truck Pistons?) and Bench Lathe Manufacture reprint from Lindsay's.

I notice that the carriage on lathes typically run on flat metal ways, but I've been wondering why not use a linear motion setup with bearings or v-guide wheels. Why not? Would would be the reason or reasons that such an arriangement wouldn't be useful on a home-built metal lathe? Not stiff enough? Too much slop? Vibration?

Thanks,
    Mark

Given that traditionally constructed lathes work perfectly well I think you are looking at the cost to achieve a given ridgidity for your answer.
    Regards,
    Nick

That's kind of what I thought the problem might be. I was just toying with the idea anyway. I'd most likely be best served by sticking with what has proven to work.

Linear rails are a good method.

Take a look at the number of new factory made CNC lathes using linear rails, there are quite few. You still need a rigid base to mount the rails on.

Generally speaking, for a super heavy duty machine conventional way are a bit more rigid.

Default Same questions we all have asked or thought about.

OK, here are my thoughts.