Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Proper use of lathe cutting tools?? Online diagrams or help?

Question Proper use of lathe cutting tools?? Online diagrams or help?

I'm new to the lathe and I am experancing a few setbacks....

For my cutting tools, I have bought a set of carbide inserts with holders:
    http://www.billstoolcrib.com/Toolset5Pc.htm

I think I have the TT or TCMM style???

While trying to face a 1" shaft last night, I broke one insert and pretty much gave up.

About the only things I know that is correct is that my tool should be at the centerline of the part and the direction of the part rotation...other than that, I'm not sure if my approach angle is correct or how should the insert "approach" the part for facing or cutting material???

Should the body of the tool holder be parallel with the lathe chuck or a few degrees off.

HELP

Sorry, I cannot help as I always use HSS tool bits. I've never had any good experiences with Cemented carbides simply because I don't know how to use them properly.

Mueller once again the best advice any of us can give you is find out if there is a local community college or tech school that has evening classes in machine shop. And if there are shop classes available find out who the guys or gals are who take the classes repeatedly. Ask questions. And no you will not be asking "dumb questions". I have yet to meet any one who refuses to share their knowledge as long as you are willing to listen. With the exception of some square headed Germans when I started my apprenticeship
    The optimist says the glass is half full, the pessimist says it's half empty. The paranoid in me says somebody put a hole in it.

Remember pessimists are at heart opptomists. They know things can and will get worse.

Rotate Guest

Mueller,

Several things that can be causing the carbide to chip.