Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Was watching a video............

Default Was watching a video............

Had some time while waiting for docs to print so I threw in The Professional Machine course on DVD to see if I could renew my waning memory on the mill.

One strange thing Darrel Holland said was when mounting your Kurt or other mill vise be careful to always mount it in the center of your mill table each and eveyr time unless you have an odd job that requires it in another location.
    He even used a tape measure and made sure it was dead on.

Wow now I am not a very good mill operator but in my reading and BBS dealings and other video courses I watched (since I am new to mills) all said make sure you position your vise in a different place all the time to keep from wearing your table out or actually spreading the t slots from underneath towards the table top.

This makes sense but Darrel who seems to be a top notch machinist was very clear on this.

Common sense tells me to use the whole table to keep wear to a minimum.

Ok lets hear what other have to say.

Is it one place all the time or move it around every time you lock her down.... GET ER DONE!
    Life Is Grand

Several POV here.
    1) Mounting the vise off center will tend
    to bend the table at some fraction of the same rate as the
    center T slots will bulge upward. Although the vise will be
    centered the table overhang will result in the table sagging
    downward, so you end up with both ends sagging after a
    few years.
    2) Screw wear will be concentrated under the vise
    so moving the vise about will move the screw wear around
    and tend to even it out.
    3) The bottom of the vise mount tangs will extrude into the
    T slots making dents in the table.
    4) None of the above is likely.
    Steve

I would guess that he's trying to reduce uneven way wear but I think he's kidding himself about being that carefully centered making any discernable difference.