Thread: Tramming a mill...Table vs vise ??

Default Tramming a mill...Table vs vise ??

When you guys tram a milling machine head do you tram the head to the table or do you tram the head to the vise mounted on the table. Just curious as I was thinking about doing some fine tuning by tramming the head to the kurt vise.

Krems

I would tram the head to the table. It is the table that moves and tramming the head to the vise may result in the end-mill not being perpendicular to it's path.

If the vise is still out, shim it.

Bear in mind, however, that I am pretty new at this machining thing and may be wrong.

Brian
    There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't.

Default Tramming

I was taught to tram the head to the table. Then recheck whatever you may mount on the table, whether it's a vise, a rotary table, or the workpiece itself. But then, I'm pretty new to this stuff. Wait for some of the more seasoned heads to chime in. Pete in NJ

Default My way

I was taught to tram off the table.

But that doesn't work on my mill, (A decent Taiwan KO.)

My mill was abused as a child, the first owner milled 500# injection molds, and the knee dovetails are damaged/worn at the column.

So, I clamp the vertical dovetails. Open the vise all the way, tram the vise, (just close). Then put 6"wide x 3/8" plate sticking vertical, at the solid jaw, and at the movable jaw, with a 5" spacer between. Machine off the top of the plates with a 1/2" endmill. Then tram off the plates.

Edit: Yes, I am aware of parallelograms, and use machinable jaws, or machined fixtures. PITA.
    Last edited by mechanicalmagic; 10-26-2007 at 06:21 PM.

Depends, my last job I had two vises set-up spanning 18" on the table and they were both the same height and I often set-up jobs using both vises. So I pretty much had to go off of the vises