Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Who's using Alibre Design ?

Default Who's using Alibre Design ?

Hello all, I did a search but couldn't find the thread. A little over a week ago someone was asking about cad programs for us HSM types ( I think it was on this forum ?). Any way It was mentoined that Alibre had a free version that was decent & a link was given. I have no cad experience but would like to make better drawings than the "napkin sketches" I'm used to working from.
    So I go to the Alibre site an check it out. They will give you their Pro version for a 30 day free trial then it reverts back to Alibre Design Express ( the free revsion) after the free trial. Well I go through the process of downloading the programe. It took over 8 hrs. on my slow dial-up connection. Then I wade my way through the process of installing it on my computer. I should add I'm far from a computer expert & Thanks to the incomplete & imcomprensible excuses for instructions that seem to come with most computers & software I usually end up pissed & wanting to choke the geeks that design this crap.
    I had the normal hectic work week & didn't look at it much till today. Well I'm pissed as usual. I can't even draw a line with the damn thing. I've been through the tutorial many times, followed the instructions step by step, & stuff they say will happen don't & stuff they don't even mention does, WTF!!!
    Like I said I'm not a computer expert but I am not stupid either. I can read & understand english just fine if it's written by someone who can do the same. Is it just me or does anyone else have the same kind of experiences?
    I have felt for years that the idiots who design & write the directions for this s**t should hire me to read the directions & try out the prouduct before they turn it loose on the public so I could slap'em up side the head & say This don't make any sense a**hole let's try makin some sense.