Thread: Surface and machine finish standards

Default Surface and machine finish standards

There is a lot of mention of surface finishes with little or no mention of standards and/or references. One persons "good" finish may be another's "poor/mediocre" finish and another's "super finish".

OK, I'm stretching things a bit - but I hope you "get my drift".

Not surprisingly there are a range of defined finishes, each of which is perhaps most effectively obtained on or from a relatively small range of machines out of a much rather range.

Each or most processes have defined finish range as well - ie milling, turning, grinding, lapping etc. etc.

When I was an Apprentice and later - 50+ years ago - we had surface finishes specified/prescribed on shop drawings. We had "scratch blocks" as standards. We would just simply scratch our work and then the standard blocks with our finger-nails - just like scratching your finger-nail over a vinyl record. It is surprising how accurate your "feel" is in this regard. We had tolerance ranges/limits for surface finish as well - just as we had for everything else on those shop drawings.

You will see surface finish defined or "called up" everywhere from finishes on engine crank-pins, pistons, roller bearings etc. - the list is endless.

I have been looking for a set of those blocks more intensely of late. All I could find on the web were electronic devices which were/are VERY expensive and not what I wanted. I happened to see them listed in my local Mitutoyo distributors catalogue and onto the phone I went and ordered one there and then (US$200!!!! - but to me - worth it). I happened to mention how scarce they were to the Technical Rep and he said they are always just walking out the door in the Industrial area in which he works.

Needlers to say there are essentially two sets of standards - the USA and the rest of the (metric) world.

This original post (OP) will consist of this text plus 7 pics over two successive posts.