Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 20wt Machine Oil

Gwindor Guest

Default 20wt Machine Oil

I don't want to sound like a complete dummy here...but I think I may. I just picked up a Jet metal lathe (9x20), and the manual says use 20wt machine oil. I can't for the life of me find this stuff anywhere...what kind of oil do I need to use? And where can I get it....in less than 5gal...say a quart or a gal?
    I have limited knowledge on a lathe...but have used them in the past. I have worked on an old Southbend...(slick as snot btw), and a Smithy. I don't want to use the wrong sort of oil...as I would like to keep this thing running great and working as it should.
    Thanks

Too bad the archive search feature is so crippled; proper oil has been discussed a LOT in the past. It may be worth trying a search, anyway.

#20 is about ISO 49, if I remember correctly. Look at www.mscdirect.com or www.mcmaster.com and see what they have. You could also use hydraulic or turbine oil of the correct viscosity. They're about the same thing as "machine oil" and may be easier to find.
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.

here is a chart cross referencing variuos oils

for your machine hydraulic oil is the best choice,if you cant find that try some 20 wt air compressor oil, but ideally you want hydraulic oil
    -buy some way oil as well
    you can use it for lots of other things if you get too much, the oil thing has been hashed to death often , and with great vigour if you search you will see .

Default Oil?

Hi Gwindor