Thread: Stuck McDougal Lathe spindle adaptor

Question Stuck McDougal Lathe spindle adaptor

Hi,
    I'm new to the Home Shop Machinist and have never asked a question before. I have a McDougal 20" lathe in very good condition, but cannot remove the adaptor or backing plate, threaded on to the spindle nose. I have tried, gingerly, heating, pounding on the collar portion of the adaptor plate, and an 8 foot long cheater bar, all to no avail. Does anyone know if there is some hidden locking mechanism (because the lathe has quite an effective brake) or some other device used to lock on a chuck? I have a face plate, same serial number as the lathe, and see no evidence of any locking devise in its bore. ANY thoughts of suggestions would be much appreciated!
    -Jack

Are you sure that it has a threaded spindle? Gary P. Hansen

Ironman,

Welcome aboard...

Now, like Gary asked, are you SURE that lathe has a threaded spindle? You mentioned gently pounding on the collar, I would expect that that lathe may have a tapered spindle mount which would have a threaded collar that holds the chuck / faceplate on the tapered spindle. It this is the case the collar will have notches around it for a spanner type wrench. Check it carefully, I would be surprised if a lathe that large had a threaded spindle.

Robin

Smile Stuck McDougal Lathe Spindle adaptor

Hi Gary and Robin and Thanks for your interest and response.