Thread: Carriage reverse for Grizzly G9729

Default Carriage reverse for Grizzly G9729

I've always wanted a lathe and mill but can't afford a real good one so I settled on a Grizzly G9729 combination unit ( http://www.grizzly.com/products/Combo-Lathe-Mill/G9729 ). It is an OK machine and it did take a while to get used to it (I worked at IBM for almost 16 years and as a shift mechanic, I had access to a Hardinge late, Bridgeport vertical mill, Brown & Sharpe surface grinder all of which spoiled me because they were so easy to use and accurate even for a "metal butcher" like me! LOL!).

My main problem with the G9729 is that the carriage feed drive isn't reversible. It is directly driven off of the spindle drive through a set of gears which means that at the end of all cuts you have to move the cutting tool away from the work piece, move the carriage back to the starting point, then re-establish the last cut dimension (zero) plus whatever cut depth for the next cut.

Has anyone built a carriage reverse for this lathe/mill tool and if so, can you share pictures, prints, parts, etc. that it took to build it.

Any and all assistance will be greatly appreciated.

I sat down with my AutoCadLt program and puzzled out a solution on paper (the real test will be to come up with the gears to implement it).

Here's my idea: the gear that presently drives the carriage drive off the spindle (which I call #1) will be changed by boring it out and installing a sleve bearing so that it rotates on the spindle shaft. The spindle shaft will be extended to put so that a gear (#5) that will drive all the time BUT can slide on that shaft on a keyway. #5 will engage #4 which will be solidly keyed on a shaft with #3. #3 will engage an idle gear #2 with is engaged at all times with #1.

Forward: #5 would disengage with #4 then it would engage #1 driving the carriage forward.